All-MW men’s basketball team announced

Here is the link for the 2012-13 All-Mountain West men’s basketball team.

The team was selected by the coaches and selected media, and I was one of those selected to vote.

My first team was the same as the coaches and other media members. I also picked New Mexico junior guard Kendall Williams as the Player of the Year, New Mexico’s Steve Alford as the Coach of the Year, UNLV forward Anthony Bennett as Freshman of the Year and Colorado State’s Colton Iverson as the Newcomer of the Year.

Three of the five players on the second team were on my ballot. I had Wyoming’s Leonard Washington on the second team, as well as Colorado State’s Pierce Hornung.

Only one player on my ballot made the third team — San Diego State’s Chase Tapley. The others I had on mine were New Mexico’s Alex Kirk (second team), Boise State’s Anthony Drmic (second team), as well as Colorado State’s Wes Eikmeier (honorable mention) and Nevada’s Malik Story (honorable mention.

I had four of the five All-Defensive team members on my ballot, including Washington. I had Boise State’s Derrick Marks over UNLV’s Khem Birch.

I picked Hornung as my Defensive Player of the Year over Birch, and my sixth man was Justin Hawkins of UNLV over Daniel Bejarano of CSU.

Not surprised no other Wyoming player earned any type of all-conference honors. Eighth seeded teams in a nine-team league that have lost five straight and 12 of the last 18 games don’t get a lot of all-conference recognition.

What are your thoughts and opinions of the All-MW team?

One thought on “All-MW men’s basketball team announced

  1. I didn’t see enough of the teams to know. I do believe no one on any team meant as much to their team as Leonard meant to the Pokes. He is a hole in next year’s team that will be hard to fill.

Comments are closed.