Yarbrough, Huff named All-MW

It was a little ironic that the two Wyoming football players that made the first and second All-Mountain West teams were on defense.

Eddie Yarbrough

Eddie Yarbrough

But despite having one of the worst defenses in the nation in nearly every statistical category, sophomore defensive end Eddie Yarbrough made the first team and senior safety Marqueston Huff made the second team.

Hard to argue both players’ production. Yarbrough led all MW defensive linemen with 89 tackles. He also had a team-best 12 tackles for loss and 6.5 quarterback sacks. His two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries also tied for first on the team.

Huff led all MW defensive backs with 127 tackles and 74 solo tackles. His two interceptions were tied for the most on the team with junior linebacker Jordan Stanton, who was a honorable mention

Marqueston Huff

Marqueston Huff

All-MW selection. Huff also tied for team-high honors with six pass break-ups and two fumble recoveries.

All three of UW’s defensive players produced big numbers. Stanton was second in the MW with 134 tackles. But a big reason those guys were so productive was because they were on the field a lot. The defense struggled to stop anybody all season, and UW’s offense was among the worst in the nation in time of possession.

That all adds up to at least some guys putting up some impressive statistics.

Senior receiver Robert Herron and junior quarterback Brett Smith joined Stanton as honorable mention picks.

Not a bad representation of UW players. Not many guys from a 5-7 squad normally earn all-conference honors.

The voting was done by the 12 head coaches and select media. I was one of those media members, and my first and second team selections were not that much different than the one that was released Tuesday.

I had Smith, Yarbrough, Huff and Stanton all on my second team. San Jose State senior David Fales was the second team All-MW quarterback. His effort in the Spartans’ upset of Fresno State in the regular-season finale had to help his case.

I didn’t have any UW players on my first team.

What do you think of the all-MW teams and honorees?

Here is a complete list of the All-MW teams and individual awards:

All-MW First Team


QB Derek Carr* Sr. Fresno State

WR Davante Adams* So. Fresno State

WR Chandler Jones Sr. San José State

RB Jay Ajayi So. Boise State

RB Kapri Bibbs So. Colorado State

TE Crockett Gillmore Sr. Colorado State

OL Charles Leno, Jr. Sr. Boise State

OL Weston Richburg Sr. Colorado State

OL Austin Wentworth* Sr. Fresno State

OL Joel Bitonio Sr. Nevada

OL Tyler Larsen Sr. Utah State

PK Jared Roberts Jr. Colorado State

PR/KR Carlos Wiggins So. New Mexico


DL Demarcus Lawrence* Jr. Boise State

DL Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe Sr. Boise State

DL Brock Hekking Jr. Nevada

DL Eddie Yarbrough So. Wyoming

LB Shaquil Barrett Sr. Colorado State

LB Keith Smith Sr. San José State

LB Jake Doughty Sr. Utah State

DB Derron Smith* Jr. Fresno State

DB Nat Berhe Sr. San Diego State

DB Bené Benwikere Sr. San José State

DB Nevin Lawson Sr. Utah State

P Ben Skaer Sr. New Mexico

*–Two-Time First-Team Selection

All-MW Second Team


QB David Fales Sr. San José State

WR Devante Davis Jr. UNLV

WR Josh Harper Jr. Fresno State

RB Tim Cornett Sr. UNLV

RB Kasey Carrier Sr. New Mexico

TE Marcel Jensen Sr. Fresno State

OL Matt Paradis Sr. Boise State

OL Ty Sambrailo Jr. Colorado State

OL Bryce Quigley Sr. San Diego State

OL Nicholas Kaspar Sr. San José State

OL Brett Boyko Jr. UNLV

PK Austin Lopez So. San José State

PR/KR Isaiah Burse Sr. Fresno State


DL Tyeler Davison Jr. Fresno State

DL Beau Yap Jr. Hawai‘i

DL B.J. Larsen Jr. Utah State

DL AJ Pataili‘i Sr. Utah State

LB Ejiro Ederaine So. Fresno State

LB Kyler Fackrell So. Utah State

LB Zach Vigil Jr. Utah State

DB Donte Deayon So. Boise State

DB Jeremy Ioane Jr. Boise State

DB Shaq Bell Sr. Colorado State

DB Marqueston Huff Sr. Wyoming

P Chase Tenpenny Sr. Nevada

Honorable Mention

Wyoming: Robert Herron, Sr., WR; Brett Smith, Jr., QB; Jordan Stanton, Jr., LB.

Air Force: Will Conant, Jr., PK; Michael Husar, Sr., OL.

Boise State: Dan Goodale, Jr., PK; Matt Miller, Jr., WR; Shane Williams-Rhodes, So., WR/PR/KR.

Colorado State: Kivon Cartwright, Jr., TE; Max Morgan, Jr., LB.

Fresno State: Isaiah Burse, Sr., WR; L.J. Jones, Sr., DB; Karl Mickelsen, Jr., LB; Nikko Motta, Sr., DL; Garrett Swanson, So., P; Cody Wichmann, Jr., OL.

Hawai‘i: Ben Clarke, So., OL; Brenden Daley, Sr., LB; Clark Evans, Sr., TE; Scott Harding, Jr., P; John Hardy-Tuliau, Sr., DB; Art Laurel, Sr., LB; Siasau Matagiese, Sr., DL; Ne’Quan Phillips, So., DB.

Nevada: Charles Garrett, Jr., DB; Brandon Wimberly, Sr., WR.

New Mexico: Dallas Bollema, Sr., LB; Brett Bowers, Jr., DL; LaMar Bratton, Jr., OL; Dillon Farrell, Sr., OL; Darryl Johnson, Sr., OL.

San Diego State: Colin Lockett, Sr., PR/KR; Adam Muema, Jr., RB; Terry Poole, Jr., OL; Ezell Ruffin, Jr., WR; Nick Tenhaeff, Sr., LB; J.J. Whittaker, Jr., DB.

San José State: Billy Freeman, Fr., TE; Ryan Jones, Sr., OL.

UNLV: Frank Crawford, Sr., DB; Mark Garrick, Sr., DL; Cameron Jefferson, Jr., OL; Tani Maka, Sr., LB; Marcus Sullivan, Jr., PR/KR; Peni Vea, So., DB; Robert Waterman, Jr., OL.

Utah State: Maurice Alexander, Sr., DB; Joey DeMartino, Sr., RB; Nick Diaz, Jr., PK; Jamie Markosian, Sr., OL; Bruce Natson, So., PR/KR; Eric Schultz, Sr., OL; Brian Suite, Jr., DB.

Offensive Player of the Year

Derek Carr, Sr., QB, Fresno State

Defensive Player of the Year

Shaquil Barrett, Sr., LB, Colorado State

Special Teams Player of the Year

Carlos Wiggins, So., KR, New Mexico

Freshman of the Year

Tyler Winston, Fr., WR, San José State

Coach of the Year

Matt Wells, Utah State

2 thoughts on “Yarbrough, Huff named All-MW

  1. I really thought Ruffran and Wick deserved honorable mention. Didn’t we have one of the toughest in conference schedules? Anyways I guess if your 5-7 not many voters are going to our players respect. We got to take care if business next season.

  2. Also im counting the players from teams and Hawaii has nine selections and New Mexico eight. Wyoming only five. Interesting how the weakest teams that we beat get more players selected than we do.

Comments are closed.