UW picked sixth; Biezuns All-MW

The Mountain West preseason media poll and all-conference teams just came out from here at Media Day in Las Vegas.

Wyoming was picked sixth, which didn’t surprise me. I had the Cowboys fifth, but you can argue that the fifth through eighth-place teams could finish anywhere in that grouping.

Senior defensive end Josh Biezuns was the only UW player on the all-conference team. I also had senior cornerback Tashaun Gipson on my ballot, but Air Force senior Anthony Wright got the majority of the votes from the media. I had TCU linebacker Tanner Brock on my ballot, while the rest of the media had CSU senior Mychal Sisson. My all-conference kicker was Ross Evans from TCU, the rest of the media had James Aho of New Mexico.

Other than that, my ballot and my predicted order of finish matched everyone else. See that list below.

An interesting note on the predicted order of finish: Boise State is the clear-cut favorite in its first year in the league. The last time a new team joined the MWC was in 2005 with TCU, and the Horned Frogs won the MW that year. They were picked to finish sixth.

Nineteen of the 25 players on the all-conference preseason team came from the top four teams in the preseason poll. Boise State had the most with seven.

2011 Mountain West Preseason Media Poll

(first-place votes)                           Points

1. Boise State (28)                           236

2. TCU(3)                                              208

3. Air Force                                         176

4. San Diego State                           160

5. Colorado State                             104

6. Wyoming                                         80

7. UNLV                                                     77

8. New Mexico                                    39


2011 Preseason All-Mountain West Team


QB Kellen Moore                             Sr.           Boise State

WR Phillip Payne                             Sr.           UNLV

WR Josh Boyce                                  So.          TCU

RB Ronnie Hillman*                        So.          San Diego State

RB Doug Martin                                                Sr.           Boise State

OL Nate Porter                                  Sr.           Boise State

OL A.J. Wallerstein**                     Sr.           Air Force

OL Kyle Dooley                                 Sr.           TCU

OL Thomas Byrd                               Sr.           Boise State

OL Paul Madsen**                           Sr.           Colorado State

TE Lucas Reed**                               Jr.           New Mexico


DL Billy Winn                                     Sr.           Boise State

DL Shea McClellin                            Sr.           Boise State

DL Stansly Maponga**                   So.          TCU

DL Josh Biezuns**                           Sr.           Wyoming

LB Tank Carder#*                             Sr.           TCU

LB Mycal Sisson**                            Sr.           Colorado State

LB Miles Burris                                  Sr.           San Diego State

DB George Iloka                                               Sr.           Boise State

DB Leon McFadden*                       Jr.           San Diego State

DB Anthony Wright                         Sr.           Air Force

DB Jon David                                      Sr.           Air Force



P Brian Stahovich*                          Sr.           San Diego State

PK James Aho                                    Sr.           New Mexico

Ret. Jonathan Warzeka                 Sr.           Air Force


Offensive Player of the Year: QB Kellen Moore, Boise State

Defensive Player of the Year: LB Tank Carder, TCU

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force

#Unanimous 2011 preseason selection

*2010 All-Mountain West first team

**2010 All-Mountain West second team